1927 Oct 4

New York
Oct. 4, 1927

Dear Thelma,

Believe me this is the first opportunity I have had since I landed here, to write you. Sunday evening the Toretsky’s had a party here and “yours truly” was the center of attraction. About twelve couples were present and I never felt so blue in all my life. All I could see before me was your face. Externally I assumed a congenial manner but inside of me was remorseful. Thelma, it seems like ages since I left Troy. I am suffering from a sentimental complex but eventually I will overcome that. I must realize that all this is going to be for the best. Monday morning at six I went looking for work. I was out from early morning to late at night thinking I could do it all in one day, so I came home so exhausted that I was fit only for bed. Tuesday was very much like Monday only that I got home earlier and before doing a thing I find myself sitting here writing to you and feeling a new kind of joy that only can be expressed in the most poetic language, which I am incapable of using.
I got a pupil thru Dave Harris. That is the only thing I gained in a material way. Of course I learned a good deal about New York and its ways, which will be very useful, therefore, all in all I am ahead of the game. The Young Men’s Symphony issued a call for candidates. Next Sunday morning at 9:30 the examination will be held. That may mean a chance for me for some orchestral experience.
To-night Dave Harris and I are going to hear the N.Y. Trio. If it is good you will get the program.
What are you doing these days? Please don’t keep me waiting to hear from you. You must realize that you and I find ourselves in different conditions. I didn’t get a chance to see my sister yet so you can see how I am hopping around.
Leo was to call me up Monday. Mrs. Toretsky told me she was out shopping about the time he was to call. I was out job hunting so if he called it was in vain. Tell Easer I will write him to-morrow.
It was a good thing I saved some money to hold me over until I got a job. Picture a fellow coming down here broke. It’s a cruel place unless you are stationed. The world rushes by you unconcerned. After I find a suitable job everything will be hot-digadie-damn. The people I am playing with treat me like their own. I have a fine room to practice and everything else supersedes all expectations. I met a young fellow who is studying with Paul Staslovitch an assistant of Aifer. He plays a fine viola so I am going to try and form a practise string quartette. Dave Harris first fiddle, Bickweat second, Dave Lindel viola ??? cello.
Write me at your earliest convenience and make me happy. Hearing from you is next best to seeing you. With all the love that is in me I implore you to forgive me for delaying this letter. Will you???

Issie
P.S. Regards to everybody. My address is 834 Beek St. New York City care of Toretsky

1927Oct04_1 1927Oct04_2

Editor’s Notes:  He is most likely living on “Beak” Street in the West Bronx though I could not find this house number.  The Evening Post writes of the beginning of the Young Men’s Symphony Orchestra in 1927, days after this letter was written. http://tinyurl.com/nmebgow.  I will continue to look for information on the N.Y. Trio and the Toretsky’s.  

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

