August 9 1934

August 9, 1934

Dear Thelma,

Mr. Brond arrived in Troy, Monday night about 5:30 P.M. and we are just now finishing up.  What a siege!  We made all kinds of changes in the store and painted and cleaned and what not.  So now you know why I haven’t written sooner.  To-night will be my only free night, having worked Mon, Tues, Wed., Friday night and Sat. nite until 9 P.M.  I wouldn’t have seen you even if you were in Troy.  And it seems as if ages have passed since I last saw you.  My vacation was just what I expected it to be; a beautiful dream.

This morning about 11:30 I visited Mr. Pommer at Cluett’s.  I introduced myself as representing Mr. R. Stein and in as unformal a manner as I am capable of presented the situation as per Leo’s instructions.  Mr. Pommer couldn’t do anything this week, but faithfully promised to come in the store to see me, a week from to-morrow (that is Friday next).  He thought it queer when he found out from the Bank last Monday that there was no note there against him.  When he questioned me about it, I told him that I didn’t know anything about it.  All I knew was that he must pay me and I made that definitely understood.  So you will have to wait until then for results on that matter.

Mr. Mooradian dropped in to look some of the sale suits over and we got into a conversation about Marion.  He said he didn’t realize what an efficient and smart girl he had working for him until lately.  He said he misses her and it sounded sincere.  Of course I haven’t told anybody that Marion landed a job, not even Mooradian.  I figure whomsoever you wish to be informed of your business you will do so yourself.

All the snap shots we took out Grafton were so bad that they weren’t even developed.  The negatives were all black.  Which means a complete flop.  Always my luck, damn’t!

To-day I met Ann Moore.  She had a big funny grin on her face.  I immediately surmised that everything turned out for the best.  And I was right.

I was very glad to hear that the piano pleased the folks.  There’s no satisfaction like having the best.  And talking about the best makes me think of nothing else but you.  If only I had wings to fly to Washington.  No that won’t do, I’m letting my fancy run away with me.  What else does that story book say that you were reading which had in it “I can’t live without you.”?  I hope it doesn’t end there.  That would be an ending with grief.

I didn’t get a chance yet to talk to Mr. Brond about getting away before 9 o’clock on that Sat. night to make the two day visit to N.Y. for Labor Day, but the next letter to you will probably have some details.

Everything in Troy is the same as ever.  Absolutely nothing new and (now that you’re gone) interesting.  Please tell Leo for me that I will write him soon, but for the present, tell him that even if he did try to influence you to stay in Washington I couldn’t hardly blame him, because I know in the final analysis you will do and act in accordance to your own intelligence, and if he has or had anything to offer, it should at all times be welcomed.  I surely wouldn’t want you to do anything that your intelligence didn’t dictate, not even ever coming to Troy.  I’m a victim of circumstances more so than you and that’s that.

Well I guess I’ll close this letter, because I’ve written more perhaps than is good for me on an empty stomach so, write me sooner than I wrote you.

Issie

P.S. Regards to all.  Tell Milton I still can beat him in checkers.

Editor’s Notes:  Cluett’s refers to Cluett, Peabody & Co., a manufacturer of detachable shirt cuffs and collars eventually growing into the brand name Arrow that produced a wider array of men’s clothing.  Mr. Pommer is most likely C.R. Palmer, a Board member.  R. Stein is Robert Stein, the name of Thelma’s father and brother.  One of them must have worked for Cluett’s and been owed money.  The family was living in Troy and recently moved to D.C.; Izzy is close to the family and has been trusted to help with the family’s financial dealings in Troy.  

Mooradian’s were a Turkish family in Troy, owning a furniture business that appears to still be around today.  Marion, another of Thelma’s sister worked for him until the family moved.  All the Stein girls appear to be praised for their brains 🙂 and Izzy encourages Thelma to use her own intelligence to make her own decisions, good advice.  

Remember when you couldn’t tell if the photo you just took was good or not?  You had to use the whole roll and get it developed by a professional!  Unfortunately, Izzy’s vacation photos were not taken with an iPhone and improved with HDR.

I love that Izzy acknowledges that Thelma can make her own decisions and will surely not allow others to influence her.  Izzy says he is a victim of circumstance perhaps because he is tied to his family or job in Troy while Thelma could choose between D.C. and Troy.  I’m sure he’d want her back with him but he understands that she does not belong to him and must make her own decisions.  So progressive!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

