Aug 27, 1934

August 27, 1934

Dear Thelma,

If I’ve become spoiled you’re the cause of it!  After receiving three letters a week and then dropping down to one is a comedown, which is enough to make anybody panicky.  Until I received your telegram I didn’t know what to think.  Did she elope with Senor Ralon?  Has she become infatuated with a member of the cabinet or a senator?  Anything and everything might occur to a jealous person and who said I wasn’t jealous?

Bill + Ann haven’t done anything about moving as yet and I hardly think they will be set up in N.Y.C. by Sat or Sunday for that matter, so we will have to figure on someone else.  My idea is to take a room at the Cornish Arms Hotel, so that we can be to-gether without being disturbed.  I’ll meet you at Esther’s Sunday morning as per your letter, but we can go down to the Cornish Arms from there.  Let me know what you think about this plan.  Remember I haven’t seen you in a month and I’m not interested in going to see people; all the time that I spend in N.Y. I want to be with you alone when and if possible.

Sunday I spent the day in the city.  I had some business to attend, so after the business was over, I read the Sunday paper, took a long walk, (out to Frear Park) with Bertha Harris, practiced for a while and then went to see Treasure Island at the Troy Theatre.  Ordinarily that would have been an interesting day, but without you it falls flat.  Damn it I never thought I would feel like this about it or I would have kept you here bodily.

Mr. Pommer is stalling and there’s not a chance in the world to get any money out of him unless some high-pressure is applied.  Of course if you don’t want this method used, I can’t see for the life of me how you’re going to collect a red cent.  He’s a tough nut to crack.  His politeness makes him slippery to deal with.  I finely sold Mr. Mooradian a suit at 22.50.  He had been coming in this store for a long time trying to chisel the price down.  He still asks for Marion and says he wished he had her back.

I’m not going to press the matter of your coming to Troy with me Monday night; I’ll be patient.  But keep turning the thing over in your mind and don’t view it from one angle alone.  When you finely do decide you will not be sorry for your decision because you will have had plenty of time.  Write me as soon as you receive this letter so that the time will pass quicker until Sunday morning when I’ll be kissing and hugging you with a fury of a month’s restraint.

Issie

P.S. Regards to the whole family and it’s branches.

Editor’s Notes: Izzy and Thelma are still planning their NYC meet-up.  They may have been expecting to stay with Bill & Ann but Izzy would prefer the intimacy of a hotel room.  Below is a postcard of the Cornish Arms Hotel and a link to a blog post with a little more information – such as the cost of a double room would have been around $3.50/night.  Izzy longs to have Thelma to himself but a trip to NY means that Thelma needs to make the rounds to friends and relatives.

cornisharmshotelpostcard

Izzy spent Sunday in the other city, Troy and gives us a glimpse of a normal day off in the city.  Attending to “business”, walking in Frear Park, and taking in a film at the theater.  However, it cannot be fully enjoyed when love is so many miles away.

I wonder what “high-pressure” Izzy would suggest applying to Mr. Palmer who continues to evade paying what he owes to Robert Stein.

Mr. Mooradian purchases a suit finally for what amounts to about $400 today with inflation.  He haggles on the price which probably wouldn’t happen at a Men’s Warehouse but was more acceptable at local shops, between neighbors.

Thelma is asked to think hard on whether she will return to Troy with Izzy for what sounds like a quick stay rather than an invitation to move in.  Perhaps Thelma’s hesitation is that once she is in Troy with Izzy it will be much harder to leave again for DC.

To Watch/Read: Treasure Island with Wallace Beery, Jackie Cooper, and Lionel Barrymore based on the Robert Louis Stevenson novel of the same name.

Etymology Corner: The turn of phrase “red cent” refers to an obsolete copper penny.  It is mostly used in a negative way to mean trivial or useless, perhaps as the value of the penny is itself.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

