Feb 15 1939

Wednesday, February 15, 1939

Dear Thelma,

To-day was a very dismal one.  It was very dark with a heavy rain that didn’t let up until five-thirty.  It is now seven-thirty P.M. and there’s a snow storm blowing outside which threatens to be a wow!  But, who the hell cares what the weather is or is going to be!!!  I’m agoin to see my Sweetheart Sunday night and I can’t keep my heart still.  If I could only go to sleep now and wake up Sunday nite.

It is exactly a week to-day that my father has shown steady and uninterrupted progress.  He has been up, eating better and a little more.  No vomiting, good evacuations, and sleeping very restfully.  We took a trip to New Lebanon N.Y. (it’s near Pittsfield Mass) to get some of that water, which I wrote you about before.  Yesterday he went to the Y.M.C.A. and to a violet-ray, sun lamp treatment, shower and a careful rub-down by a professional, which he extremely enjoyed.  While there he got on the scale.  He weighs 140 lbs nude.

Ask Dave what he thinks of the violet-ray treatments in relation to my father’s case.  If these are good for him we expect to buy one so that we can give him treatments right here in the house.  Also what make + kind is the best to get, if any?  He might include this information in his letter to me if he hasn’t already sent me a letter.  If he has, then you get the full “dope” and convey it, if you will.

What I wanted you to ask Barbour about was if there was any provision for members of the union, who being unemployed, got a reduced rate on dues payments or if they had to pay anything while so unemployed and still remain in good standing in the union.  Try once more, with the above in mind and let me know all the details.

Received my unemployment card.  I will try to collect on it up here.  Will let you know more about this later.

I’m keep my clay model intact till you get here so you can see the original.

At present I am reviewing some S.L.P. pamphlets, and reading “Working for the Soviets” by Rukeyser which is an interesting narrative to say the least.  Also reading The Weekly People from cover to cover.  This reading and practicing the violin is my diversions from my present “job”.

My mother’s toe has improved considerably.  We are watching her like a hawk.  If fate is kind to us, maybe we can get the folks out Grafton this Spring once more.  This is my ardent hope.

Darling, being away from you so long makes me feel as though I’m being torn apart.  I’m looking forward to your visit with such anxiety that it beggars words to describe.  I repeat, I love you because I can’t find a better way to express myself.  Take good care of yourself and extend my very best regards to the whole family.

Issy

P.S. Extend my best wishes to all our friends and Comrades.

Editor’s Notes: Izzy said it, who the hell cares what the weather was??  I’ll take his word for it instead of looking it up.  Sometimes the weather will affect the mood of the letter but Izzy’s spirit cannot be dampened because he is seeing his love in just a few days.  To celebrate Valentine’s Day, perhaps?

His father has also been doing well this week with lots of current, if holistic, treatments.  We’ve discussed the healing properties of the Lebanon water in other letters.  The Troy YMCA was an arts and crafts style building made of marble and brick erected on 2nd St. in 1905.  

ymcaThere may have been a YMHA (Young Men’s Hebrew Association) on 87 First St. but probably did not have the same resources as the YMCA.  

Nikola Tesla first used his violet ray technology for electrotherapeutic use on the human body.  In the early 1900s Edward Cayce used the violet ray for a variety of ailments.  In the 1930s violet ray machines were available to medical offices as well as home consumers.  In 1951, libel suit was filed against the Master Electrical Company for stating that the machines could cure disease. 

violetraysThere are a ton of resources on light therapy if you’re interested in learning more.  I wonder what was Dave’s reply about its effectiveness and which product to purchase.

Thelma has a lot to take care of with Izzy gone.  She has meetings for him about unemployment and the whole matter with getting his cousin from Germany over to the U.S.  There’s only so much Izzy can do when he’s away and the Internet doesn’t exist yet.

To Read: “Working for the Soviets ; an American engineer in Russia” by Walter A. Rukeyser  published in 1932.  

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

