1939 April 3

April 3, 1939

Dear Thelma,

Well final arrangements have been made (and unless anything unforeseen occurs which might detain me) we will arrive in Washington sometime Saturday afternoon. We spend a day in N.Y. and a day in Philadelphia as per my last letter to you. Sweetheart, I was never so anxious to get going in all my life as I am now. I’m going to hug and kiss you until you cry for help! Boy these next few days until I see you are going to be an ordeal.

Yesterday Art and I played duets and considering all in all we did much better than we anticipated. Let me know by return mail if Tennis is being played outdoors this time of the year in Washington, Sanford Levenstein desires this information.

I’m inclosing $5.00 this time because I’ll need a few bucks on my way down.

Pop has been feeling a little better the last couple of days although still weak. Mom’s toe is almost healed but it still can bear constant vigilance.

George is O.K. now. Poor kid had a tough time of it.

Well I think I’ll close this note now with all the love in the world in my heart for you.

Issy

P.S. Regards to the family tree and branches and all the comrades. Write me as soon as possible.

1939apr03-1

Editor’s Notes: As mentioned in the last letter, Izzy is hitching a ride with David Levinstein down to DC to see Thelma.  This short notes acts as an itinerary confirmation with a dash of anxious love.  He is mostly concerned with letting Thelma know that he cannot wait to see her and will be thinking of it for the next several days until he arrives.

The health of the family is briefly noted as being generally OK.  He mentions practicing the violin and playing duets with his brother Sam (Simeon).  David’s younger brother Sanford asks Izzy to inquire about whether it is tennis weather in Washington.  It’s only Monday so there is a possibility that Sanford will get his answer before the road trip, I suppose so he knows whether to pack tennis gear or not.  

If you’re wondering what that tennis gear would look like, click the photo below to see more from 1939 Wimbledon. Tennis racquets were still made of wood up until the mid 1960s though the wood was beginning to be laminated in the 1930s.  The current material of graphite and steel, as well as larger head size, makes for much more powerful plays.

107708400

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

