1939 Apr 17

April 17, 1939

Dear Thelma –

Arrived home yesterday at 6 P.M. after a weary, depressing trip.  On the train I couldn’t read a word; just kept thinking about a dream week which vanished.  From now on I’ll be on edge until I return to you, Sweetheart.

The condition of Pop and Mom was a pleasant surprise to me.  Both were feeling better than usual.  Maybe this was because of my arrival but anyhow, it certainly made me feel good.  The rest of the family is OK and George is going back to work in a week or so.  This is quite definite.

Tell Esther I got an additional return ticket for $1.00 for George Frank.  He was very accommodating to me in return by driving me up to the Bronx.

To-day I’m going out in the country for a driving lesson.  George is going to teach me how to drive and by the end of this week I expect to be an expert.

Write me how your ankle is darling.  I felt terrible Sunday morning leaving you there sleeping with a bum ankle.

Also let me know what’s new regarding Leo.  Rest assured that this information will remain confidential.

I’m holding up everybody now so I’ll sign off, Sweetheart and I’ll be holding my breath till I hear from you.

Issie

P.S. Tell Sam + Milton that everyone here likes their picture very much.  Now George has the bug.  He’s going to buy a fast-acting camera.

P.S.S. Regards to from all to all.

Editor’s Notes: Izzy has returned home from visiting Thelma in D.C.  They had a “dream week” and leaving her has depressed him.  Instead of driving home with David he took the train part of the way and received a further ride from George Frank (possibly a friend of Esther’s).  Izzy has not learned how to drive yet and I wonder if he will be able to make more frequent visits to Thelma when he does not have to rely on others.

Auto History:  Izzy and Thelma’s home city, Troy, NY, was the first to pass any law requiring motor vehicles to be registered or motorists to be registered.  In 1899 the mayor wrote a letter to decree that horseless carriages traveling over 6 mph needed to have a permit.  Fascinating, eh?

1940front

Formal driver’s education came to public schools around 1935.  Previously, people learned through friends, family members, and even car salesman.  

Here’s a booklet from 1937 by the American Automobile Association.

1546

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

